Invest Newark Team

Roy Southerland

President & Chief Executive Officer

Office: (973) 273-1040
Email: rsoutherland@investnewark.org

Roy Southerland is a true Social Impact Investment leader in the State of New Jersey.  Before Invest Newark, he was with the Greater Newark Local Initiative Support Corporation (LISC) team as a Senior Program Officer for Lending.  He was charged with the responsibilities of project financing, development lending intake, loan eligibility/risk analysis, underwriting and loan monitoring for the state of New Jersey.  During his tenure he was generated over $20 Million in investments and assisted with the portfolio management of over $40 Million of loans.

 

Prior to joining Greater Newark LISC, Roy spent almost two decades at the New Jersey Redevelopment Authority(NJRA) as a Senior Loan Officer, where he provided financial assistance, financial relationship management and technical assistance to borrowers, private/public sector organizations, local government, urban developers and community-based organizations with the goal of creating meaningful redevelopment projects in New Jersey’s 70 urban municipalities.  As an integral part of the NJRA’s growth and development, he has been involved with community and economic development projects that totaled more than $50 Million, which ultimately leveraged over $2 Billion of urban development projects.  He oversaw projects that have built upwards of 2,000 units of housing and close to 800,000 square feet of commercial, civic or educational space.

 

Mr. Southerland attained a Bachelor of Science in Communications Sciences from Howard University in Washington, DC, a Bachelor of Arts in Economics from Thomas Edison State College in Trenton, NJ and a Master of Arts in Public Strategic Leadership from St. Bonaventure University in St. Bonaventure, NY.  He is also professionally certificated in Credit Risk Analysis and Community and Economic Development Financing from New York University.

Team Members

Kevin Collins

Chief Financial Officer

Office: (973) 273-1040
Cell: (862) 763-2018
Email: kcollins@investnewark.org

Roger Johnson

SVP of Real Estate Development

Office: (973) 273-1040
Cell: (732) 337-4009
Email: rjohnson@investnewark.org

Martha Baez

SVP of Land Bank Operations

Office: (973) 273-1040
Cell: (862) 241-5120
Email: mbaez@investnewark.org

Jereri Edwards

Director of Finance

Office: (973) 273-1040
Cell: (862) 373-5237
Email: jedwards@investnewark.org

Hilda Castellanos

Economic Development Analyst

Office: (973) 273-1040
Cell: (862) 754-3702
Email: hcastellanos@investnewark.org

Tracey Wingo

AVP Real Estate Development

Office: (973) 273-1040
Cell: (862) 343-0864
Email: twingo@investnewark.org

LaDawn Ervin

Administrative Assistant/ Guest Services Specialist

Office: (973) 273-1040
Fax: (973) 273-1070
Email: lervin@investnewark.org

Vanessa Quijano

SVP of Business Development

Office: (973) 273-1040
Cell: (862) 754-3802
Email: vquijano@investnewark.org

Norma Gonzalez

VP of Real Estate & Economic Development

Office: (973) 273-1040
Cell: (862) 337-5318
Email: ngonzalez@investnewark.org

Elizabeth DaSliva

AVP of Business Development & UEZ Coordinator

Office: (973) 273-1040
Cell: (862) 754-2409
Email: edasilva@investnewark.org

Francisco Gleim

Director of Marketing

Office: (973) 273-1040
Cell: (973) 508-3750
Email: fgleim@investnewark.org

Samantha St. Omer

Office Manager, Executive Assistant to President & CEO

Office: (973) 273-1040
Cell: (862) 754-3723
Email: sstomer@investnewark.org

Roger Soares

Comptroller & Senior Real Estate Accountant

Office: (973) 273-1040
Cell: (201) 341-1742
Email: rsoares@investnewark.org

Eddie Torres

Senior Accountant

Office: (973) 273-1040
Email: etorres@investnewark.org

Board of Directors

Allison Ladd Chair
Joel Freiser Vice-Chair
LaMonica McIver Honorable Councilmember
Cedric Bennett
Carlos M Gonzalez Honorable At-Large Councilmember
Richard Cammarieri
Dr. Kevin Lyons
Jeanique Riche-Druses